Contact Us Today!

    Assault & Battery Lawyer in Salt Lake city

    Assault charges in Utah are serious and can result in significant jail time and expensive fines. If you have been charged with assault, contacting an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible is important to ensure your rights are protected.

    Assault and battery defense attorneys at Morris Law Group understand the severe nature of these charges and will work tirelessly to protect your rights and freedom. We have experience handling all types of assault cases, including domestic violence, aggravated assault, and sexual assault. We will thoroughly investigate the allegations against you and build a strong defense to get the best possible outcome in your case.

    Assault charges in Utah explained:

    Under Utah law, assault is defined as an attempt to commit a battery or the intentional infliction of bodily injury upon another person. The battery is defined as the unlawful touching or application of force to another person in a harmful or offensive manner.

    Assault can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the severity of the offense and the circumstances surrounding the incident.

    Penalties for assault in Utah:

    If convicted of misdemeanor assault in Utah, you could face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If convicted of felony assault, you could face up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

    You should contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer if you have been charged with assault as soon as possible.

    Types of Assault Charges:

    A person can face various types of assault charges in Utah. The most common type of assault charge is domestic violence.

    Simple Assault:

    Simple assault is the least serious type of assault charge. Simple assault is typically charged when the victim sustains minor injuries or if no weapon was used during the commission of the assault.

    Aggravated assault:

    Aggravated assault is a more serious charge than simple assault. Aggravated assault is charged when the victim sustains serious bodily injury or if a deadly weapon was used during the commission of the assault.

    Other assault charges include sexual assaults, or assault against a healthcare provider, peace officer, or military service member in uniform.

    How can a Utah personal injury lawyer assist me after I was assaulted?

    If you or someone you know has been the victim of assault, it is important to contact an experienced personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. A personal injury lawyer can help you understand your legal rights and options. If someone intentionally threatens, attacks, or physically injures you; you might be able to file a civil lawsuit for compensation. Preparing for and conducting a lawsuit can take a lot of time and energy. When you are experiencing physical and emotional trauma, it can seem incredibly overwhelming. This is where an experienced personal injury lawyer can be beneficial.

    A personal injury lawyer will review your case and determine if you have a valid claim. If you have a valid claim, your lawyer will gather evidence and build a solid case to prove your injuries were caused by the assault.

    You should call us immediately at 385-274-7766 if you’ve been unjustly accused of assault or battery offense.


    Ask An Expert

    The Best Choice For Your Case

    We Are Happy to Answer Your Questions

    Contact Us Today!